Vance's CALL resources page | esl_home index
Return to Papyrus News Archive Main Page

Papyrus News

Seeking Pioneers of the Electronic Frontier


February 21, 2000: This message was distributed by Papyrus News, a free e-mail distribution list on the global impact of information technology on language, literacy, and education. Feel free to forward this message to others, preferably with this introduction. For information on Papyrus News, including how to (un)subscribe or access archives, see <>.


Date: Wed, 9 Feb 2000 13:34:32 -0800
From: EFF Pioneer Awards <>
Subject: Seeking Pioneers of the Electronic Frontier

Seeking Pioneers of the Electronic Frontier

Call for Nominations:

The Ninth Annual International EFF Pioneer Awards


Please redistribute this notice in appropriate fora


In every field of human endeavor, there are those dedicated to expanding knowledge, freedom, efficiency, and utility. Many of today's brightest innovators are working along the electronic frontier. To recognize these leaders, the Electronic Frontier Foundation established the Pioneer Awards for deserving individuals and organizations.

The Pioneer Awards are international and nominations are open to all. The deadline for nominations this year is March 15, 2000 (see nomination criteria and instructions below).

The 2000 AWARDS

The Ninth Annual EFF Pioneer Awards will be presented in Toronto, Canada, at the 10th Conference on Computers, Freedom, and Privacy (see The ceremony will be held on the evening of April 6, 2000. All nominations will be reviewed by a panel of judges chaired by Dave Farber, FCC Chief Technologist and long time EFF Boardmember, and chosen for their knowledge of the technical, legal, and social issues associated with information technology.

This year's EFF Pioneer Awards judges are:

- Herb Brody, Senior Editor, Technology Review

- Dave Farber, Chief Technologist, FCC

- Moira Gunn, Host, Tech Nation, NPR

- Larry Irving, CEO,

- Tara Lemmey, Executive Director, EFF

- Peter G. Neumann, Principal Scientist, Computer Science

Lab, SRI International and Moderator, ACM Risks Forum

- Susan H. Nycum, Partner, Baker & McKenzie

- Drazen Pantic, NYU Center for War, Peace, & the News Media

- Barbara Simons, President, ACM


There are no specific categories for the EFF Pioneer Awards, but the following guidelines apply:

1. The nominees must have made a substantial contribution to the health, growth, accessibility, or freedom of computer-based communications.

2. The contribution may be technical, social, economic, or cultural.

3. Nominations may be of individuals, systems, or organizations in the private or public sectors.

4. Nominations are open to all, and you may nominate more than one recipient. You may nominate yourself or your organization.

5. All nominations, to be valid, must contain your reasons, however brief, for nominating the individual or organization, along with a means of contacting the nominee, and your own contact number. Anonymous nominations will be allowed, but we prefer to be able to contact the nominating parties in the event that we need further information.

6. Every person or organization, with the single exception of EFF staff members, is eligible for an EFF Pioneer Award.

7. Persons or representatives of organizations receiving an EFF Pioneer Award will be invited to attend the ceremony at the Foundation's expense.

You may send as many nominations as you wish, but please use one e-mail per nomination. Submit all entries to:

Just tell us:

1. The name of the nominee;

2. The phone number or e-mail address at which the nominee can be reached; and, most importantly,

3. Why you feel the nominee deserves the award;

You may attach supporting documentation in Microsoft Word or other standard binary formats.


1992: Douglas C. Engelbart, Robert Kahn, Jim Warren, Tom Jennings, and Andrzej Smereczynski;

1993: Paul Baran, Vinton Cerf, Ward Christensen, Dave Hughes and the USENET software developers, represented by the software's originators Tom Truscott and Jim Ellis;

1994: Ivan Sutherland, Whitfield Diffie and Martin Hellman, Murray Turoff and Starr Roxanne Hiltz, Lee Felsenstein, Bill Atkinson, and the WELL;

1995: Philip Zimmermann, Anita Borg, and Willis Ware;

1996: Robert Metcalfe, Peter Neumann, Shabbir Safdar and Matthew Blaze;

1997: Marc Rotenberg, Johan "Julf" Helsingius, and (special honorees) Hedy Lamarr and George Antheil;

1998: Richard Stallman, Linus Torvalds, and Barbara Simons;

1999: Jon Postel, Drazen Pantic, and Simon Davies.

See for further information.


The Electronic Frontier Foundation ( ) is a global nonprofit organization linking technical architectures with legal frameworks to support the rights of individuals in an open society. Founded in 1990, EFF actively encourages and challenges industry and government to support free expression, privacy, and openness in the information society. EFF is a member-supported organization and maintains one of the most-linked-to Web sites in the world.

Use your browser's BACK button to return to a previous page

For comments, suggestions, or further information on this page, contact Vance Stevens, page webmaster. Regarding content of Papyrus-News, contact Mark Warschauer.

Last updated: February 22, 2000